Effective 6 p.m. Thursday, July 23, masks/facial coverings must be worn in public across the State of Ohio.

Masks/facial coverings must be worn:

  • By anyone in a public place where social distancing isn’t possible
  • At any indoor location that is not a residence
  • Outdoor spaces where a large number of people are congregated
  • When waiting for, riding, driving or operating public transportation: taxi, car service, private rideshare, shuttle service

The following do not have to wear masks/facial coverings:

  • Those who have a medical condition or disability
  • Those trying to communicate with someone who has a disability
  • Those actively exercising or playing sports
  • Those who officiate religious services
  • Those actively involved in public safety
  • Those actively eating or drinking
  • Those who are younger than 10

Travel Advisory: Governor DeWine also announced a travel advisory for all individuals coming into Ohio from states reporting positive testing rates of 15% or higher for COVID-19 and recommends that those individuals self-quarantine for 14 days. If you are traveling from Alabama, Arizona, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Mississippi, Nevada, South Carolina, Texas or Puerto Rico (as of July 22), it is recommended to quarantine at home or in a hotel. This also applies to those who live in Ohio and those traveling here from the states, whether they are traveling for business or vacation. Visit for more information.